Marion's Central ParkMarion City Library at Historic Santa Fe Depot

Marion City Council

The Marion City Council is the City's legislative body, with the power to enact and enforce all ordinances and resolutions. Two of the four Council members are elected every two years by the city at large.

The four members of Council, along with the Mayor, take action by ordinance, resolution or motion. They adopt and may alter the annual budget and confirm the Mayor's appointments. The Council is responsible for the appropriation and issuance of bonds, the awarding of contracts and the approval of City expenditures. Council may lease or dispose of the City's real estate and may levy assessments against property. City Council Meetings are held every other Monday at 4:30pm in the City Council Meeting Room at 203 N. Third Street. City Council Meetings are open to the public.

The Marion City Council positions held by Councilman Meierhoff and Councilman Kline come up for election in April of 2014. The positions held by Councilman Heitschmidt and Councilman Dieter will come up for election in April of 2016. If you are interested in serving Marion in an elected office, please see our "Running for Office" page.

Councilman Gerald D. (Jerry) Kline

Councilman Kline was reelected to the Marion City Council for the third time in April of 2014.

Contact information:

222 S. Lincoln
Home: 620-382-2298
Cell:  620-381-4669

Councilman Jerry Dieter

Councilman Jerry Dieter was elected to the Marion City Council in April of 2012.

Councilman Chad Adkins

Councilman Chad Adkinswas elected to the Marion City Council in April of 2014.

Councilwoman Melissa Mermis

Councilwoman Melissa Mermis was appointed in April 2014, to fill the unexpired term of Mayor Heitschmidt city council seat, when he was elected as Mayor.